Automobile collisions are a far too common occurrence. Motor vehicle crashes account for approximately 99% of transportation injuries. Every state has important rules and regulations for auto accidents that people must follow.
Understanding the Tennessee laws for motor vehicle accidents is vital to know the steps to take after suffering injuries in a car accident.
Reacting immediately after a crash
Immediately after people have been in a car accident, everyone needs to assess their injuries and help any injured parties. The responsible drivers also need to provide their names, addresses and vehicle registration numbers at the scene. It is also useful for the injured party to take any photos at the scene to support a case.
Seeking medication attention
Getting medication attention is an important step after an auto accident, not only for peoples’ health but because they may obtain medical records that report injuries sustained in the accident. This is useful to support a claim in court.
Filing an accident report
There are certain situations that require someone to file a crash report after a vehicle accident. This includes if there is property damage that exceeds $50 or a person’s insurance company requires it.
An individual has a time limit of 20 days to file if there were injuries or property damage exceeding $400. Failing to report an accident may result in a driver’s license suspension. To file the report, the driver needs to submit a form to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security.
Filing an insurance claim
Tennessee is an at-fault state. This means that at-fault drivers and their insurance companies must pay for any damages caused by an accident. It is important to alert both parties’ insurance companies in this process. If the at-fault party insurance accepts the other party’s claim, they may offer a settlement. However, the injured party has the option to decline a settlement and move forward with a civil case.