You were driving when another vehicle pulled out from a side street and hit you. It was an unusual circumstance, because you had only just pulled out from a side street yourself. Despite that, you were on the road prior to the driver pulling out, and you can prove it because of how you were hit.
That’s good news, because Tennessee has a set of rules that dictate whether you can receive compensation after a crash. To receive compensation after a crash in Tennessee, you need to show that the other driver is responsible for the crash. That’s why it’s a good idea to talk to witnesses and to take photos at the scene. These pieces of evidence can help show that you weren’t the person who caused the crash.
In order to recover compensation, you must be less at fault for the crash than the other driver. This is called the 49 percent rule, and it’s specific to Tennessee law. If you can show that you’re 49 percent or less responsible for the collision, you can recover a portion or all of your expenses.
When you decide to make a claim, you have up to a year to claim for personal injuries and up to three years for personal property damage. There are limits on damages within the state, too, with noneconomic damages limited to $750,000 for most types of injuries and $1 million for noneconomic damages as a result of catastrophic injuries. Your attorney can help you file a claim after a crash, so you don’t miss your chance to do so.
Source: FindLaw, “Tennessee Car Accident Compensation Laws,” accessed Aug. 23, 2017