Reporting an accident is necessary in Tennessee

If you get into a car accident in Tennessee, there are a few things you have to do. Initially, you must assess the situation to determine if you need to call for help or make an accident report. If anyone is hurt or there is property damage, call 911 to have the police and emergency medical team come to the scene. If you don't report an accident in Tennessee, you could have your license suspended, so it's always better to err on the side of safety.

In addition to notifying authorities is anyone is hurt or killed. If there is property damage worth more than $50, your insurance company requires you to report an accident. Because Tennessee has that low property damage threshold for crashes, every crash that takes place in the state is normally reported.

At the scene, you may need to talk with the police. If you are hurt or unable to speak to the police at the time, you may reach out to them later when you are stabilized at the hospital.

All police reports have to be filed within 20 days, so make sure that you connect with the police and review the information they've collected so far. Before you give a statement, you may want to speak with your attorney. He or she can advise you about what you should or should not say. In the meantime, stick to the facts when you communicate with the police. Don't take responsibility for the accident, though. Fault is something that the police will determine upon reviewing the scene and investigating the crash.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

How can we help you?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Office location:

Boren & Boyd, PLC
114 S. Liberty St. Suite 100
Jackson, TN 38301

Toll Free: 800-727-0622
Phone: 731-300-6207
Phone: 731-423-3300
Fax: 731-423-2135
Jackson Law Office Map